About Us

Who Are We

Whale Beach Surf Life Saving Club is home to a small but dedicated team of surf life savers on Sydney’s Northern Beaches, who patrol every weekend and public holidays from September through April.

Our tight-knit community is united through a common love and respect for the ocean. We pride ourselves on excellence in surf safety and education. The diversity of our community is its strength, with our lifesavers, associate members, and wider community working together to keep the beach safe for all.

Everybody is welcome at Whale Beach, a place where you can connect, train hard, and belong.


Whale Beach surf club was founded in 1937 at a time when campers and weekenders dominated beach users. The Club is housed in a superb, multi-storied clubhouse that, unusually for a surf club, is owned by the members rather than the local council.

All active and associate members have full access to our first class facilities, including sleeping accommodation, full bathroom and kitchen amenities, as well as a gym and board and ski storage. The Club has around 200 active and reserve active members and some 130 supporting associate family members.

Whale Beach has a place for everyone and welcomes the unique skills and personalities each individual brings to our club. We’ll see you on the beach!


Whale Beach is situated on the northern peninsula of Sydney’s Northern Beaches. It is 600m long, east facing and bordered by Little and Careel heads and backed by slopes covered in houses. The beach is accessed via winding Whale Beach Road and a steep descent to the beachfront reserve, which includes a large car park, southern picnic area and rock pool on the southern rock platform.

The beach receives waves averaging 1.6m resulting in an energetic surf zone, dominated by a single bar, which is always cut by three to four rips, including permanent rips against either headland. The north end, known as "The Wedge", is a favourite surfing spot breaking over a rock reef providing a good take off and short but solid left. The north and south rock platforms are easily accessible and along with two to three gutters found along the beach, make it a very popular fishing location.

2023/24 Management Committee

Meet the team responsible for managing our club, learn about their roles and reach out to them if you have any questions or suggestions.

Position Name
President Kieran Gallagher
Treasurer Andrew Darley
Secretary Anthony Leonard
Immediate Past President Andrew Pearce
Club Captain Jack Lamrock
Vice President Saskia Clarke
Ocean Swim Director Rich Stewart
Chief Instructor Sophie Wines
Competition Secretary Brett Babicci
Marketing Officer Stephanie Darley
Property Officer Brian Lamrock
Junior Activities Captain Jack Lamrock
Social Secretary Melinda Love
Membership Officer Laura Mears
Gear Officer Hamish Jones

Other Club Officers

Position Name
Vice Captains Dylan Rees-Ewen & Saskia Clarke
Handicapper Graeme Stewart
IRB & Power Equipment Co-Captains Cameron Cormio & Harry Millard
Boat Captain Brett Babicci
Board and Ski Captain Toby Milroy
Radio Officer Reuben Hackett
First Aid Officer Sophie Wood
OH&S Officer Vacant
Social Media Officer Olivia Rees-Ewen
Digital Officer Vacant
Communications Officer Carolina Darley
House Captain Sophie Wood
Sponsorship Officer Vacant
Merchandise Enquiries Darley Family
Member Protection Officer Sam Zagorski

Committees & Sub-committees

Position Name
Executive Committee Kieran Gallagher (chair), Anthony Leonard, Andrew Darley, Jack Lamrock
Life Saving Committee Jack Lamrock (chair), Saskia Clarke, Dylan Rees-Ewen, Sophie Wines, Hamish Jones, Cameron Cormio, Harry Millard, Ruben Hackett, Toby Milroy, Sophie Wood
Education sub-committee Sophie Wines (chair), Cam Cormio, Harry Millard, Sophie Wood, Saskia Clarke
Competition Sub-committee Brett Babicci (chair), Jack Lamrock, Toby Milroy, Rich Stewart, Graeme Stewart
Ocean Swim sub-committee Annette Baggie (chair), Michael Riley, Saskia Clarke, Rob Burfitt-Williams, Jack Lamrock
Finance Committee Andrew Darley (chair), Erica Mann, Jon Pratten
Administration committee Anthony Leonard (chair), Melinda Love, Steph Darley, Andrew Darley, Sarah Warburton
Entertainment sub-committee Melinda Love (chair), Saskia Clarke
Election sub-committee Anthony Leonard (chair), Andrew Darley, Nat O’Carroll, Laura Mears
Property committee Brian Lamrock (chair), Sophie Wood, Andrew Pearce
Junior Activity committee Phil Schmidt (chair), Sophie Wines, Saskia Clarke, Sheldon Pozniak, Peter Myers
Governance Committee Jack Lamrock, Saskia Clarke, Danny Ryan, Jon Pratten, Andrew Pearce
Life Membership sub-committee Jack Lamrock, Saskia Clarke, Danny Ryan, Jon Pratten, Andrew Pearce
Judiciary sub-committee Jack Lamrock, Saskia Clarke, Danny Ryan, Jon Pratten, Andrew Pearce
Constitution sub-committee Jack Lamrock, Saskia Clarke, Danny Ryan, Jon Pratten, Andrew Pearce