Awards Night: A golden celebration of the 2017/18 season

by | Jun 30, 2018 | Achievements, Community, Social

The Annual Awards Night 2018 saw a sea of golden dresses, tuxedos, and everything in between – it was a fantastic evening with many of our members coming together to celebrate the season.

Patrol Captain of the Year Suzy Bownes and Young Lifesaver of the Year Sophie Rothery, began the night with a touching tribute to the efforts of our members on December 23rd 2017. Recounting the day and how we came to revive a man against all odds, and stabilising another suffering from secondary drowning. All members involved in the rescues were presented with medallions. Lindsay Kershaw took out Lifesaver of the Year, making history as the first person since the awards inception to win it three times. Rounds of trivia and a fun-filled dance floor saw the celebrations continue on into the evening.

A huge thank you to all of you for making 2017/18 one of our best seasons yet, see the list below of all award winners for the season:


Award Recipient Description/Criteria
Awarded to members of the club who have rendered outstanding service over and above standard patrol duties.
Outstanding Service Award GRAEME STEWART Taking on handicapping duties
EDD CONNOLLY Radio, Big Swim, patrol captain, christmas patrol regular. Stepped up to a lot of jobs
LINDSAY KERSHAW Double IRB courses in club time of need
TOM SANDERSON Instagram growth
SUE KEARNEY Little Rippers
RICHARD LEONARD Attained trainers and helped across several patrols
BILL PHILLIPS Representing Whale at Australian titles – 4th
Members achieving more than 100hrs of patrol service with the Club,
Captain’s Service Award STEPH DARLEY
Most Valued Patroller
– Patrol 1 Rob Burfitt-Williams
– Patrol 2 Juliette Hackett
– Patrol 3 Charles Carnegie
– Patrol 4 Cel Vinci
– Patrol 5 Steph Darley
– Patrol 6 Amy Sheridan
– Patrol 7 Lachlan Taylor
– Patrol 8 Maddie Zagorski
– Patrol 9 Jack Bregenhoj
– Patrol 10 Richard Leonard
Contribution to Education Harry Smith
Patrol Captain of the Year SUZANNAH Bownes
Outstanding New Member 16/17 Steph Darley
Young Life Saver of the Year Sophie Rothery
Life Saver of the Year Lindsay Kershaw
Patrol of the Year The Naughtycool Nines
Sunday events and age champions
Opens Club Champion (M) Floyd Higgins
Opens Club Champion (F) Ellie Keft
Masters Club Champion (M) Aaron Hendrickson
Masters Club Champion (F) Jac Rees Ewan
Veterans Club Champion (M) Graeme Stewart
Veterans Club Champion (F)
Juniors Club Champion (M) Dylan Rees Ewan
Juniors Club Champion (F)
Juniors Sunday event Champion (M) Ben Rothery
Juniors Sunday event Champion (F) Eloise Riley
Opens Sunday event Champion (M) Floyd Higgins
Opens Sunday event Champion (F) Suzy Bownes
Masters Sunday event Champion (M) Brett Babici
Masters Sunday event Champion (F) Sue Kearney
Veterans Sunday event Champion (M) Phil Schmidt
Veterans Sunday event Champion (F)
Whale Beach SLSC Male winner Bill Phillips
Whale Beach SLSC Female winner Eloise Riley
Upside-down duck award Oli Bownes


Want to get involved?


Whether you are a pro on the rescue board, can keep a cool head during first aid, want to learn some new skills or just love hanging out and flipping burgers on the barbie, there is a place for you at Whale Beach Surf Life Saving Club!

Explore our membership options

Whale Beach SLSC

227 Whale Beach Rd,
Whale Beach NSW 2107,

Whale Beach SLSC is proudly sponsored by:

Contact Us:
The Strand, Whale Beach, New South Wales 2107


PO Box 354
Avalon NSW 2107


(02) 9974 4944